Monday, October 30, 2017

The Rift Uprising (The Rift Uprising Trilogy #1) by Amy S. Foster

Title: The Rift Uprising: Book One of The Rift Uprising Trilogy
Classification: Young Adult
Genre: Science Fiction
Series: The Rift Uprising Trilogy (Book 1)
Format: Paperback; 416 pages
Publisher: Harper Voyager; Reprint edition (July 4, 2017)
ISBN-10: 0062443135
ISBN-13: 978-0062443137
Author's Website:
Notes: I read a copy from my local library.

In 2005 a laboratory in Livermore, California attempting to understand the properties of dark matter conducted an experiment that resulted in the opening of a doorway to the Multiverse. Scientists deemed this portal to other versions of our world "The Rift", and within hours 13 more Rifts opened up around the world. Fearing mass panic, the global leaders of the world united to form an alliance  called ARC--the Allied Rift Coalition. It was meant to keep the Rifts from public knowledge. Soon beings from other multiverses began coming through the portals and ARC dealt with them. Then a month after the experiment took place, a group of beings known as Roones, a highly evolved humanoid species, came through the Rift and promised to help ARC deal with the Rifts.

With technology far surpassing our own, they implanted soldiers with chips said to make them exponentially stronger, smarter, faster, and more agile, but each of the initial test subjects died. Their mature minds, it was believed, couldn't handle the change. Instead of scrapping the chips, ARC agreed to test the chips on younger subjects, and unbeknownst to their parents, a group of children were implanted. These implants met with success. These children, and others after them, grew up to become the guardians between our world and those of the Rifts. They police The Rifts perimeters and are called Citadels.

Ryn Whittaker is a Citadel who's been training since she was fourteen. Now seventeen, she's the head of her own unit--beta team. She's never really questioned what she's been told about the Rifts, the chips implanted in her and her fellow Citadels, or the rather violent way they deal with those who pass through the Rifts into her world--that is until she strikes an unlikely and forbidden friendship with a boy who crosses over from an Earth similar to ours. He makes her see things she never noticed or questioned before...

This is her story.
This is the first novel of a trilogy which deals with the multiverse. I absolutely gobbled up the story in one sitting. It kept a fairly fast pace, was action packed, and kept me highly entertained.

Ryn is a natural tactician who thinks quickly on her feet and doesn't make sentimental decisions. She, like all her fellow Citadels, is extremely smart, strong, and agile. She's also well liked and a natural born leader. When she encounters Ezra she begins to question many things and he helps her find the answers or as many as they can find.

Ezra comes from an alternate Earth, but one that is similar to ours. He's a genius and his insight opens Ryn's eyes to what is going on, and makes her questions things she otherwise wouldn't. While I feel I know Ryn, I'm not sure I know all there is to know about Ezra. So far we've only seen how he acts on Ryn's Earth and I'm curious if we'll see another side of him once he gets home to his own world.

I couldn't help but give this one 5 out of 5 roses. I absolutely loved it. I liked the inner turmoil Ryn went through as she tries to comprehend that she may have been lied to in a thousand different ways over the years. I enjoyed the story, the characters, and the world Ms. Foster created. I look forward to finding out what happens next and how Ryn will deal with it all. This one's definitely going on my keeper shelf. Now I need to buy a copy. 
The order of The Rift Uprising Trilogy:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...