Saturday, May 7, 2011

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11) by Charlaine Harris

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 11)
  • Title: Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 11) by Charlaine Harris
  • Classification: Adult Fiction
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy
  • Format: Hardcover, 336 pages
  • Publisher: Ace Hardcover (May 3, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0441020313
  • ISBN-13: 978-0441020317
  • Notes:  Contains sexual content and one character drops the F-bomb.

Sookie's life is once again turned upside down. Someone fire bombs Sam's bar at the beginning of the book. (As you can see by the cover, we were given a hint of what was in the book.) Not knowing if the bombing is due to Sam's acknowledgement of his were status or something else, everyone is on edge.

Claude and Dermot are both living with Sookie. Sam's relationship with yet another scary female, Jannalynn - the Long Tooth pack enforcer, is doing well. Eric is still very protective of Sookie and rushes to her shortly after the bombing occurs. But all is not well between the two. Eric is hiding something from Sookie and she can't get it out of him. Whatever it is must be a doozie because Eric and Pam are at odds because of it. The secret seems to be feeding Sookie's doubts about Eric's feelings and she wonders if it's the blood bond they share that keeps him around. By the end of the book, Sookie will finally find out what Appius meant when he said Sookie would never keep Eric. Will Sookie ever get her Happily Ever After? Maybe we'll find out in book 13, the last book of the series.

Once again I enjoyed getting lost in the wonderful world Ms. Harris has created. I very much enjoy all the twists and turns that are contained in the book. We got to see a lot of our favorite characters and there were some good actions scenes. We finally got to learn more about the relationship between Sookie's Grandma and Niall. I also liked the fact that Sookie isn't playing the part so much of victim and appears to be holding her own when attacked. I have to admit after reading Dead and Gone I really didn't like how Sookie just kept getting beaten up and hurt. It was just too much. This one ends with a cliffhanger that had me wishing I could get my hands on the next book. I gave this one 4 out of 5 stars.

There was a wonderful interview with Charlaine Harris this week in the Boulder Weekly by Pamela White (aka Pamela Clare). One of my questions was asked and Pamela mentions me. *grin*  You may want to check it out. It talks about the Series ending *sniff*,  what it was like selling the Sookie series before the term/subgenre Urban Fantasy was coined and what in the world a hair reciever is. Here is a link:

Previous books in the series:

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood)Living Dead in Dallas (Original MM Art) (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood)Club Dead (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Bk. 3)Dead to the World (Original MM Art): A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood)Dead as a Doornail (Original MM Art): A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood)Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 6)All Together Dead (Original MM Art) Publisher: Ace Trade; Reprint editionFrom Dead to Worse (Original MM Art) (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood)Charlaine Harris's Dead and Gone: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood) (Mass Market Paperback)(2010)Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 10)

1. Dead until Dark
2. Living Dead in Dallas
3. Club Dead
4. Dead to the World
5. Dead as a Doornail
6. Definitely Dead
7. All Together Dead
8. From Dead to Worse
9. Charlaine Harris's Dead and Gone
10. Dead in the Family

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...