Thursday, July 28, 2011

Heiress in Love (Ministry of Marriage, #1) by Christina Brooke

Heiress in Love (Ministry of Marriage Novels)
  • Title: Heiress in Love 
  • Classification: Adult Fiction
  • Genre: Historical Romance
  • Format: Paperback, 368 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks; First Edition edition (June 28, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0312534124
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312534127 
  • For Excerpt Click Here

Jane's first marriage was set up by the Ministry of Marriage. To say she and her husband didn't suit would be an understatement. For all that, she didn't hate her husband, and would never have wished him dead. She just came away from the marriage with a bitter taste and no desire to ever marry again.

Married for seven years to a man she didn't love, she thought she would finally be free. Upon his death, however, guardianship of their ward, whom she had raised and loved as her own, was given to Constantine Black, her husband's heir. When the will was read, Constantine inherited everything but the money he needed to run his newly acquired estate. That was given to Jane. Not willing to part with Luke she does the unthinkable. She makes Constantine an offer she hopes he won't refuse. She proposes they marry, thereby killing two birds with one stone. Constantine, a bone fide scoundrel, was  known for having ruined a young miss and not having the decency to wed her. He is seen by society as the ultimate blackguard, and Jane even offers to look the other way at any affairs he might decide to partake in. When Constantine doesn't seem very receptive to the idea, she makes it her mission to persuade him. A task that the shy young widow has no idea how to accomplish.

This is Christina Brooke's debut novel and I am highly impressed. I thought she had a lovely writing style and wrote a very enticing hero. As the story unfolds, we slowly get to learn more about Jane and Constantine. We find out their fears, their secrets, and their hopes and dreams. Expect a couple of twists, turns, and very steamy scenes, for what fun would a story be without a couple of those thrown in?

Where does the series get it's name? "The Ministry of Marriage (MOM) is the nickname of a cabal in which the leaders of the most prominent families in Britain negotiate, facilitate and approve dynastic marriages." To read more about The Ministry of Marriage, for which the series is named, click here. I got the above little snippet from Christina Brooke's website where she goes into more detail about MOM.

I first ran across this book because it was recommended by another author who talked about it on Facebook. When I checked out Christina's website and read a description of both the book and the series I had a very good feeling about it. Thankfully, my first impression was correct. Take my word for it, this is an author to watch. So if you're looking for a new romance novel to read, you may just want to pick this one up. I know I was glad that I did. I gave this book a 5 out of 5 roses.

Order to read series:

1. Heiress in Love
2. Mad About the Earl - coming January 3, 2012
3. A Duchess to Remember  - release date to be determined

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...