Thursday, July 28, 2011

Rules of Betrayal (Jonathan Ransom, Book 3) by Christopher Reich

Rules of Betrayal (Jonathan Ransom, Book 3)
  • Title: Rules of Betrayal (Jonathan Ransom, Book 3)
  • Classification: Adult Fiction
  • Genre: Suspense Fiction
  • Format: Paperback, 528 pages
  • Publisher: Anchor; Reprint edition (April 26, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0307473813
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307473813
  • For Excerpt Click Here
  • Notes: I won this book via the Goodreads First Reads program. This book contains violence.

The life of a spy is not an easy one. There is no fame for the sacrifices you make. You know that if your cover is blown there is a good chance you won't live to see another day. What you do is for the good of the person or country you are working for, and if it comes down to you or the task your set before you, you are the expendable one. So while you need to have some degree of trust for the ones you work for, you know ultimately that trust can be betrayed at any moment.There is no handbook regarding the rules of betrayal. Those rules are unwritten.

Jonathan Ransom is still upset about the betrayal he felt when he learned he was being used by his wife, Emma, as a cover to accomplish her tasks as a spy. While working in Afghanistan without the backing of Doctors Without Borders, he's decided to continue his work on his own. Once again, however, he finds himself being used as a cover by a spy. This time it's his assistant who betrays him. While being transported back to safety after all hell brook loose, he meets the man who is Emma's former boss, Connor. Talked into helping with Connor's most recent operation, Jonathan's concern for his estranged wife's safety was used to entice him to work for the Division. Emma was unmasked as a dual agent during an arms negotiation which went sour. She was tortured and left for dead. It is believed, however, that she is still alive. Jonathan will be quickly inducted into the world of spying, and he may not come out of this one alive.

I felt this book read like a movie. It was fast paced, had a lot going on, and had an excellent story. I did at times wish I had a decoder ring to decode all the acronyms used. As this was not the first book in the series, I'm guessing I probably would have had the acronyms down pat by now if I'd started with the first book. A glossary in the back of the book, however, would have been nice. I liked how the book came full circle starting with us witnessing a plane crash and ending with an explanation of what we, the readers, witnessed. Lots of plot twists and action in this one. So grab your book, sit back, and enjoy the bumpy ride. I gave this one 4 out of 5 roses

Order of series:

1. Rules of Deception
2. Rules of Vengeance
3. Rules of Betrayal

    No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...