Sunday, June 5, 2011

Just Like Heaven (The Smythe-Smith Quartet, #1) by Julia Quinn

    Just Like Heaven (The Smythe-Smiths)
  • Title: Just Like Heaven (The Smythe-Smith Quartet, #1)
  • Classification: Adult Fiction
  • Genre: Historical Romance
  • Format: Paperback, 384 pages
  • Publisher: Avon; Original edition (May 31, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 006149190X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061491900

How can a mole hill, a giant rabbit, a treacle tart, a poorly done musicale, a pair of red shoes, a meddling old lady, and ultimately a young woman's botched up plans lead to love? Well, when the woman in question is a Smythe-Smith, the answer is, quite easily.

Honoria Smythe-Smith has known Marcus Holroyd for years. Marcus is Honoria's brother's best friend. Over the years he spent enough time with their family to be considered a part of it. When an unfortunate incident led to Daniel fleeing the country, he asked only one thing of Marcus, to watch over his baby sister and keep the rakes away. Even the best made plans sometimes have a way of going awry....  

Do you remember the first time you fell in love? Do you remember the feeling?  Well, if you'd like to feel it again or for the first time, all you need to do is pick up a copy of this book and start reading. I love how Julia's books can capture the feeling of that period of time when everything was new, fun, exciting, and full of possibilities. When you knew that the man of your dreams was out there, but didn't yet know who he was.  Then the life changing moment where you just knew, he's the one for me. Now how many books can you say that about? So if you're looking for a light read that will put a smile on your face, you should truly consider picking up this book. After all, the first time one falls in love it can feel just like heaven.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 roses.

Notes: For those of you who have read Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series, you'll instinctively cover your ears at the mention of the name Smythe-Smith. Those dreadfully awful musicians who seem to find the most polite of London society at their musicales. Who else could sit through such a performance? This book is the first in a series that will take us into the world of the Smythe-Smith family, and you'll get to find out if they're truly tone deaf, or if there is another reason for the tradition of bad musicales to continue. This series promises to fill the empty spot left when the last of those wonderful Bridgerton's got married.

For more information about the series, and where the Smythe-Smiths fit into the Bridgerton series, check out the following link to Julia's Quinn's website. You'll be glad you did.:

The book trailer:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...