Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Book 1) by Gena Showalter

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Book 1)
  • Title: Awaken Me Darkly 
  • Classification: Adult Fiction
  • Genre: Paranormal Romance
  • Format: Paperback, 358 pages
  • Publisher: Downtown Press (February 28, 2006)
  • ISBN-10: 1416517170
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416517177
  • Author's Website: http://members.genashowalter.com/
  • Notes: Contains violence and language some may deem offensive.

"I am an alien huntress. I am part of the A.I.R. (Alien Investigation and Removal)  team, working with or against the New Chicago PD-whichever suits me at the time. Every night I stalk and kill other-worlders, and whether I'm investigating a death or causing one myself, I have to shove sentiment aside, find humor where I can, and concentrate on the facts.

I love my job, despite the blood and gore-or maybe because of it. I love solving puzzles, fitting each piece of evidence together. I love that one by one, I'm ridding Earth of our unwanted visitors.
Yes, some aliens are peaceful and are allowed to live and work among us. Those, I leave alone. But the others? The rapist, the thieves, the killers? I despise them.

Alien sympathizers often ask me if I, a hunter, a legalized killer, live with guilt. My answer: Hell, no. Why should I feel guilty for destroying a predator? I'm proud of my work. I'm privileged to do what I do. Other-worlders who survive on human carnage deserve the sting of my pyre-gun."

Mia Snow may look like a frail female, but she is tough, smart, and can take on some of the world's worst predators. She is a well respected member of the A.I.R. team and has earned her place and reputation just like any other member. Her current assignment has her on the trail of an alien serial killer who is targeting male humans. The current victim was killed then posed in a sexually provocative position and gift wrapped with a bow and left where he could easily be found. Someone is looking for attention, and they just got Mia's. This is one showdown that will have one of Mia's co-workers at death's door, and Mia wondering if she should trust a mysterious Arcadian male, Kyrin en Arr, reputed to have killed more humans than any of his kinsman. She'll have to decide if he is helping her or leading her into a trap.

Earth is now occupied by both humans and aliens. As in most cases when individuals of different backgrounds try to coexist, hatred, jealousy, and conflicts can be found. Most of Earth's laws presently in place were designed to protect the original occupants of earth - humans. In this book, Mia will find out things about herself that she never knew. She'll discover she has a personal link to this case that she never could have imagined. She'll attempt to fight the attraction she feels toward Kyrin, all while trying to figure out who did it before another victim is found dead.

I first read this book over a year ago. When I heard Katy Perry's song E.T., I immediately thought this series. "Boy, you're an alien.Your touch so foreign. It's supernatural. Extraterrestrial..." Isn't that song perfect for this series? Ever since I picked up this book to read it for the second time the song's been dancing through my head. The book gets it's name from this sentence, "I realized at that moment I'd been asleep my entire life and was only just now about to awaken." I'd give you more, but then I'd be revealing spoilers.

I enjoyed the mystery in the main story line, and the romance that goes along with it. Kyrin and Mia heat up the pages with their attraction. I liked the interaction of the secondary characters of which most get their own books. Plus, I loved the alien presence which allows for different abilities/powers to be revealed.

On the Lisarenee Romance Rating Scale this one gets a STEAM rating. - too hot for a fan, but you still have a handle on things. My overall rating is 3 1/2 out of 5 roses. A very fun and enjoyable read. 

Order series should be read:

1)  Awaken Me Darkly
2) Enslave Me Sweetly
3) Savor Me Slowly
3.5) Deep Kiss of Winter - Novella within Anthology
4) Seduce the Darkness
5)  Ecstasy in Darkness
6) Dark Taste of Rapture 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...